• Press Release

EMILYs List Women Stop Dangerous Anti-Choice Bill in Senate

January 29, 2018

For Immediate Release: 
January 29, 2018

EMILY's List Women Stop Dangerous Anti-Choice Bill in Senate

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Just now, Democratic women successfully halted Republican attempts to advance a dangerous anti-choice bill in the Senate. The legislation had previously passed the U.S. House on October 
​3, ​2017, with EMILY's List women all voting against it. In response, Stephanie Schriock, president of EMILY's List, released the following statement:

“Republicans are intent on controlling women's reproductive health decisions, ignoring facts and science in favor of dangerous extremism. We're thankful for the EMILY's List women who fight every day to ensure that women maintain the fundamental right to make their own medical decisions with their doctors. Those who supported this bill should be less focused on dismantling women's rights, and more focused on their re-election chances. Women across the country are rallying in opposition to unconstitutional attacks on their rights — and taking that energy to the ballot box.

“Our EMILY's List women in the House and the Senate stood firm against this outrageous bill, and American women deserve even more pro-choice Democratic women in office who will defend their rights — not work to take us back. EMILY's List will continue working to elect more Democratic women to replace these dangerous anti-choice Republicans in November.”
Here are a list of Republican members of Congress, in both the House and the Senate, who supported these dangerous bills — and the Democratic women ​who will replace them in November:

OUT: Sen. Jeff Flake. IN: Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (AZ)
OUT: Sen. Dean Heller. IN: Rep. Jacky Rosen (NV)

OUT: Rep. Mike Bishop. IN: Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)
OUT: Rep. Rod Blum. IN: Abby Finkenauer (IA-01)
OUT: Rep. Ryan Costello. IN: Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)
OUT: Rep. John Culberson. IN: Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07)
OUT: Rep. Carlos Curbelo. IN: Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)
OUT: Rep. Rodney Davis. IN: Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (IL-13)
OUT: Rep. Randy Hultgren. IN: Lauren Underwood (IL-14)
OUT: Rep. Will Hurd. IN: Gina Ortiz Jones (TX-23)
OUT: Rep. Darrell Issa. IN: Sara Jacobs (CA-49)
OUT: Rep. Steve Knight. IN: Katie Hill (CA-25)
OUT: Rep. Jason Lewis. IN: Angie Craig (MN-02)
OUT: Rep. Martha McSally. IN: Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)
OUT: Rep. Dave Reichert. IN: Kim Schrier (WA-08)
OUT: Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen. IN: Mary Barzee Flores (FL-27)
OUT: Rep. Peter Roskam. IN: Kelly Mazeski (IL-06)
OUT: Rep. Ed Royce. IN: Mai Khanh Tran (CA-39)
OUT: Rep. Tim Walberg. IN: Gretchen Driskell (MI-07)
OUT: Rep. Mimi Walters. IN: Katie Porter (CA-45)
OUT: Rep. Pete Sessions. IN: Lillian Salerno (TX-32)
OUT: Rep. Lloyd Smucker. IN: Christina Hartman (PA-16)